×

About Us

Our History

The Starkloff Disability Institute is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to helping people with disabilities participate fully and equally in all aspects of society.

Founded in 2003 by Max & Colleen Starkloff and David Newburger, the Starkloff Disability Institute works on changing societal attitudes and perceptions about people with disabilities through activities that send a positive message about living with disability in order to create a world that welcomes disabled people.

The Starkloff Disability Institute is the Workforce, Workplace Disability Advisor. The Starkloff Career Academy prepares candidates for competitive employment, and Starkloff Workplace Advisors prepares companies to welcome them.

Staff

Colleen Kelly Starkloff Co-Founder cstarkloff@starkloff.org Lori Becker Chief Operating Officer
Director of Communications
lbecker@starkloff.org Brian Chao Chief Financial Officer bchao@starkloff.org
Scott Thompson Director of Development sthompson@starkloff.org
Anna Alexander Virtual Classroom Coordinator aalexander@starkloff.org
Blair Dammerman Candidate Programs Manager bdammerman@starkloff.org
Katie Fields College Outreach Coordinator kfields@starkloff.org
Steven Foelsch, M. Ed. Director of Disability Studies sfoelsch@starkloff.org
Danielle Giuffrida Dream Big Camp Coordinator dgiuffrida@starkloff.org
Jason Hartsfield, MSW Career Advisor and
Disability Inclusion Lead Consultant
jhartsfield@starkloff.org
Barbara Labinjo Career Academy Associate blabinjo@starkloff.org
Maggie Mahoney Development and Communications Manager mmahoney@starkloff.org
Susan Menhard, MSW Career Academy Director smenhard@starkloff.org
Lisa Roberts Event and Volunteer Coordinator lroberts@starkloff.org

Board of Directors

Board President

Steve Degnan Vice President
Chief HR Officer
Nestlé Purina PetCare North America

Board Members

Dave Baker, Vice Chairperson

Assistant Superintendent, Retired
Special School District of St. Louis County

David A. Blanton, III

Community Volunteer

November Champion

Senior HX Accessibility Specialist
Edward Jones

Richard Engelsmann, Treasurer

Chairman
Beltservice Corporation

Kevin Erbs

Olin United Way Board Fellow
Consultant
Guidehouse

James Frost

President and General Counsel
Signing Edge

Jacqueline Jefferson, MA, SHRM

Systems Leader
Diversity, Equity & Inclusion COE
SSM Health Care

Kara Kopplin

Director of Regulatory Science
Permobil Seating & Mobility

Ned O. Lemkemeier

Senior Counsel
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, LLP

Bruce Miller

Community Volunteer

Dan Nielsen

Senior Director
Talent Acquisition — Global Occupier Services
Cushman & Wakefield

Bryan Parrish

Recruiter
Bayer

Michael Reese

Assistant Vice President
Analytics / Chief Operating Officers Division
Wells Fargo Advisors

Adewalé Soluade
Director of Diversity and Inclusion
Centene
Colleen Kelly Starkloff

Co-Founder
Starkloff Disability Institute

Get Involved
Footer Volunteer
Volunteer Almost weekly, we’re looking for volunteers that are actively working in a professional setting to help educate, advise or partner as part of our adult and youth candidate programs.
Contact Form