×
Photo of two young people sitting around an office conference room table talking and laughing. One person's wheelchair is visible.

About Us

Our History

The Starkloff Disability Institute is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to helping people with disabilities participate fully and equally in all aspects of society.

Founded in 2003 by Max & Colleen Starkloff and David Newburger, the Starkloff Disability Institute works on changing societal attitudes and perceptions about people with disabilities through activities that send a positive message about living with disability in order to create a world that welcomes disabled people.

The Starkloff Disability Institute is the Workforce, Workplace Disability Advisor. The Starkloff Career Academy prepares candidates for competitive employment, and Starkloff Workplace Advisors prepares companies to welcome them.

Staff

Lori Becker Chief Executive Officer lbecker@starkloff.org Brian Chao Chief Financial Officer bchao@starkloff.org Maggie Mahoney Director of Development mmahoney@starkloff.org
Katie Fields College Outreach Coordinator and
Disability Inclusion Consultant
kfields@starkloff.org
Steven Foelsch, M. Ed. Disability Policy Advisor sfoelsch@starkloff.org
Tom Giles Executive Coordinator tgiles@starkloff.org
Danielle Giuffrida Dream Big Coordinator dgiuffrida@starkloff.org
Paul Gruber Program Support Coordinator pgruber@starkloff.org
Jason Hartsfield, MSW Disability Inclusion Lead Consultant
and Career Advisor
jhartsfield@starkloff.org
Karyn Houston Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Outreach Coordinator
Video Phone: (314) 766-4636
khouston@starkloff.org
Debra Mize Career Academy Associate dmize@starkloff.org

Board of Directors

Board President

Steve Degnan Vice President and Chief HR Officer, Retired
Nestlé Purina PetCare North America

Board Members

Amy Bird

Director, Access & Student Success
St. Louis Community College – Florissant Valley

Gerard Buckley, PhD

President
National Institute for the Deaf

Vice President and Dean
Rochester Institute of Technology

Kevin Erbs, Treasurer

Senior Finance Analyst
Nestlé Purina PetCare North America

Harriet Felman

Community Volunteer

Christopher Gaines, MSM, Secretary

Human Factors Engineer
Seneca Resources

Pamela C. King, MAEd, CPEC

Owner & Principal
Pamela C. King Consulting, LLC

Kara Kopplin, Vice Chair

Director of Regulatory Science
Permobil Seating & Mobility

Edward F. Lawlor, PhD

William E. Gordon Distinguished Professor and Dean Emeritus
Brown School at Washington University in St. Louis

Christina Lawrence

Vice President, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Nestlé Purina PetCare North America

Kathy Lovell

Disability Services and Outreach Manager

Regions Bank

Kerri Morgan, PhD, OTR/L, ATP

Assistant Professor for the Program in Occupational Therapy and Neurology
Washington University School of Medicine

Haley Moss, Esq.

Attorney, Advocate, Thought Leader
Haley Moss, LLC

Bryan Parrish

Recruiter
AMS

Adewalé Soluade
Director of Diversity and Inclusion
Centene Corporation
Luke Terrell

Founder
Restless Productions

Allison Zuck

Architect
PGAV Destinations

Get Involved
Footer Volunteer
Volunteer Almost weekly, we’re looking for volunteers that are actively working in a professional setting to help educate, advise or partner as part of our adult and youth candidate programs.
Contact Form