×

About Us

Our History

The Starkloff Disability Institute is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to helping people with disabilities participate fully and equally in all aspects of society.

Founded in 2003 by Max & Colleen Starkloff and David Newburger, the Starkloff Disability Institute works on changing societal attitudes and perceptions about people with disabilities through activities that send a positive message about living with disability in order to create a world that welcomes disabled people.

The Starkloff Disability Institute is the Workforce, Workplace Disability Advisor. The Starkloff Career Academy prepares candidates for competitive employment, and Starkloff Workplace Advisors prepares companies to welcome them.

Staff

Colleen Kelly Starkloff Co-Founder cstarkloff@starkloff.org Lori Becker Chief Operating Officer
Director of Development and Communications
lbecker@starkloff.org Dallas Adams Communications Coordinator dadams@starkloff.org
Brian Chao Chief Financial Officer bchao@starkloff.org
Katie Fields College Outreach Coordinator kfields@starkloff.org
Steven Foelsch, M. Ed. Director of Disability Studies sfoelsch@starkloff.org
Jason Hartsfield, MSW Adult Career Services Coordinator jhartsfield@starkloff.org
Lisa Roberts Events Coordinator lroberts@starkloff.org
Susan Menhard, MSW Career Academy Director smenhard@starkloff.org
Sarah Schwegel Youth Transition Coordinator sschwegel@starkloff.org

Board of Directors

Board President

Steve Degnan Vice President
Chief HR Officer
Nestlé Purina PetCare North America

Board Members

Dave Baker

Assistant Superintendent
Special School District of St. Louis County

David A. Blanton, III

Community Volunteer

Allison Bruns

Vice President
Advice Brand Strategy | Advice & Research
Wells Fargo Advisors

November Champion

Manager/VP
WFA Online Accessibility Program
Wells Fargo Clearing Services

Charles E. Claggett, Jr.

Retired, VP Marketing
Warson Brands

B.W. Durham, Jr.

Retired, Managing Partner
Simmons Durham

Richard Engelsmann

Chairman
Beltservice Corporation

James Frost

President and General Counsel
Signing Edge

Ray Hartmann

President
Ray Hartmann & Associates

Kara Kopplin

Director of Regulatory Science
Permobil Seating & Mobility

Ned O. Lemkemeier

Senior Counsel
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

Kelly Martin

Director of Human Resources
The Boeing Company

Ron Maurer

Director
Diversity & Affirmative Action
Cigna

Joe McGauley

Principal
McGauley Real Estate

Bruce Miller

Community Volunteer

John M. Nations

Principal
Evans & Dixon, LLC

David J. Newburger

Commissioner
Office on the Disabled
City of St. Louis

Dan Nielsen

Vice President
Talent Acquisition
Centene Corporation

Bhavik Patel

CEO and Managing Partner
Sandberg Phoenix & von Gontard P.C.

William Bixby Sheldon

Retired, Director of Deaf
and Hard of Hearing Programs
Paraquad

Colleen Kelly Starkloff

Co-Founder
Starkloff Disability Institute

Get Involved
Footer Volunteer
Volunteer Almost weekly, we’re looking for volunteers that are actively working in a professional setting to help educate, advise or partner as part of our adult and youth candidate programs.
Contact Form