×

About Us

Our History

The Starkloff Disability Institute is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to helping people with disabilities participate fully and equally in all aspects of society.

Founded in 2003 by Max & Colleen Starkloff and David Newburger, the Starkloff Disability Institute works on changing societal attitudes and perceptions about people with disabilities through activities that send a positive message about living with disability in order to create a world that welcomes disabled people.

The Starkloff Disability Institute is the Workforce, Workplace Disability Advisor. The Starkloff Career Academy prepares candidates for competitive employment, and Starkloff Workplace Advisors prepares companies to welcome them.

Staff

Colleen Kelly Starkloff Co-Founder cstarkloff@starkloff.org David J. Newburger, J.D. Co-Founder, Lead Consultant dnewburger@starkloff.org Lori Becker Chief Operating Officer
Director of Development and Communications
lbecker@starkloff.org
Dallas Adams Communications Coordinator dadams@starkloff.org
Brian Chao Business Manager bchao@starkloff.org
Steven Foelsch, M. Ed. Director of Disability Studies sfoelsch@starkloff.org
Meg Geiger Development Associate mgeiger@starkloff.org
Jason Hartsfield, MSW Adult Career Services Coordinator jhartsfield@starkloff.org
Susan Menhard, MSW Career Academy Director smenhard@starkloff.org
Sarah Schwegel Youth Transition Coordinator sschwegel@starkloff.org

Board of Directors

Board President

Steve Degnan Vice President Chief Human Resources Officer/North America Nestlé Purina Pet Care

Board Members

Allison Bruns

Vice President
Advice Quality Communications
Wells Fargo Advisors

David A. Blanton, III

Community Volunteer

November Champion

Senior Online Accessibility Strategist
Wells Fargo Clearing Services

Charles E. Claggett, Jr.

Retired, Vice President
Marketing
Warson Brands

B.W. Durham, Jr.

Retired, Managing Partner
Simmons Durham

Richard Engelsmann

Chairman
Beltservice Corporation

James Frost

President & Owner
Accessible Strategies Group, LLC

Ray Hartmann

Publisher
St. Louis Magazine

Ned O. Lemkemeier

Senior Counsel
Bryan Cave LLP

Kelly Martin

Director of Human Resources
BDS GS&S Aircraft Modernization & Sustainment
The Boeing Company

Ron Maurer

Director
Diversity and Inclusion
Express Scripts

Bruce Miller

Community Volunteer

Dan Nielsen

Vice President
Talent Acquisition
Centene Corporation

David J. Newburger

Co-Founder
Starkloff Disability Institute

Trent Barnes Phelps

Community Volunteer

William Bixby Sheldon

Retired Director, Deaf and Hard of Hearing Programs
Paraquad, Inc

Colleen Kelly Starkloff

Co-Founder
Starkloff Disability Institute

Get Involved
Footer Volunteer
Volunteer Almost weekly, we’re looking for volunteers that are actively working in a professional setting to help educate, advise or partner as part of our adult and youth candidate programs.
Contact Form